On The Big Screen

I’m sitting in class reading through my email(we were all just talking so it was okay that I wasn’t doing any real work) when I see an email from my dad with the subject line “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”  Interest peaked, I thought I better read this ASAP.  It read as follows.

“Torrey,

On the big screen!

*Link to TCM attached*

Love ya,

Daddio”

I gave an audible and accidental very loud laugh in the middle of class. Everyone asked why I laughed so hard so I read the email out loud to them. They all “awwwww-ed” but I honestly thought it was just hilarious.

I don’t know if you noticed, but this blog is named after the very famous movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  I obviously love that movie and love Audrey Hepburn’s character in it.  I have always resonated with it.  Yes, that means at 8 years old I was watching this movie and thinking “I get her. I don’t know why everyone is so annoyed by her antics. She makes sense!” So of course I would and did jump at the chance to see one of my all-time favorite movies in a movie theater.

Image result for breakfast at tiffany's

Seeing that film on a movie-theater size screen while sitting in a movie-theater seat was beyond dramatic feeling.  The opening credits where Holly Golightly gets out of a cab at Tiffany’s wearing that beautiful Givenchy dress and draped pearls.  She pulls out a croissant and takes a sip of coffee while looking at the diamonds in the window.  She then casually strolls around the corner.  GAHHH. The feels! I am not too prideful to admit that I started to tear up.  It was beautiful to say the least.

Now I’m obsessed with finding old movies to watch in theaters.  I’ve been researching to see if there are any others that I would find interesting happening soon.  If you hear of anything, give me a heads up!

Leave a Reply

